Reigning Wimbledon champion Marketa Vondrousova leads the select field of starters at this year’s Bad Homburg Open powered by Solarwatt. In addition to the world number six, three other Grand Slam champions – tournament ambassador Angelique Kerber, Victoria Azarenka and wildcard holder Caroline Wozniacki – were in the 32-player draw when entries closed.  

PLAYERS 2021 – 2023

The Bad Homburg Open has established itself as a premier tennis tournament, attracting Grand Slam champions, Wimbledon winners, and numerous top ten players. 

In 2023, the tournament welcomed Iga Swiatek, the current world number one and recent French Open winner, generating excitement among fans in and around the Kurpark. The grass court event at TC Bad Homburg has seen the participation of three former world number ones: tournament ambassador Angelique Kerber, Simona Halep, and Victoria Azarenka.

In 2021, Angelique Kerber, a three-time major winner and 2018 Wimbledon champion, secured the title at the Bad Homburg tournament premiere. Caroline Garcia’s victory in the spa town the following year proved to be a good omen, as she was crowned world champion at the WTA Finals in Dallas just over three months later. At the third edition of the boutique tournament with Wimbledon flair, Katerina Siniakova emerged as the winner, having only lost to Angelique Kerber in the final in 2021. In the final match against Lucia Bronzetti from Italy, the Czech, who is the world number one in doubles and a seven-time Grand Slam winner, emerged victorious with a score of 6:2, 7:6 (7:5). She was then presented with the unique elephant trophy of the Bad Homburg Open.